I watched my first ECNL games at Addenbrooke Park in Lakewood this weekend, an eye-opening experience partially viewed through the lens of a video camera. Gobs of people told me the Elite Clubs National League is the girls’ equivalent of the U.S. Soccer Development Academy level for boys. If someone tells me about a higher level of 14- to 18-year-old girls playing soccer in Colorado, I’d be surprised (and I’d go see it).

On Saturday, the Colorado Rush U15 team beat San Juan Soccer Club 2-1. Quaid Solarte followed up her own penalty kick and blasted the rebound for the game-winner. The intensity didn’t seem as high on Sunday when they tied Santa Rosa United 2-2. But Rush kept composure to equalize not long before the final whistle.

Sofia Weiner and Sage Digiulio from the Rush U16 team scored in the 2-0 victory over Santa Rosa United on Sunday. I didn’t see the 2-0 win over San Juan Soccer Club on Saturday for comparison, and three Rush games against California teams doesn’t make me an ECNL expert. But the combinations, technique, pace of the game, and calm decision-making made it entertaining for me.

